Nico Hischier in NHL Top Prospects Game tonight


Halifax Mooseheads superstar rookie Nico Hischier will have a chance to display his skills to the world again this evening when he takes part in the 2017 Sherwin-Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game which is taking place at Centre Vidéotron in Quebec City.

Fans can watch the game starting at 8:00pm Atlantic time on Sportsnet.

He becomes the 19th member of the Mooseheads and eighth Import player from the team to participate in the prestigious event over the course of it’s 21-year history. Hischier will not only be playing but he is in fact the Captain for Team Orr. The Naters, Switzerland native has an impressive 68 points (33 goals – 35 assists) in 40 games this season with Halifax. The recently turned 18-year-old is now ranked second among North American skaters in NHL Central Scouting’s recently released midterm rankings.

Nico Hischier Team Orr Captain
Goaltender Alex D’Orio of the Saint John Sea Dogs will also suit up for Team Orr which features names like Matthew Strome (Hamilton Bulldogs) and Cody Glass (Portland Winterhawks).

Team Cherry has four QMJHLers including Pierre-Olivier Joseph (Charlottetown Islanders), Antoine Crete-Belzile (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada), Antoine Morand (Acadie-Bathurst Titan) and Maxime Comtois (Victoriaville Tigres).

On Sunday Players seized the opportunity to showcase their individual strengths with Sport Testing once again putting the next wave of NHL Draft talent through a series of tests to gauge fitness and skill levels for NHL management and scouts. Nico Hischier placed fourth in the on-ice portion of the tests which included forward and backward sprints, reaction, weave agility, and transition agility each performed with and without the puck.

All-time Mooseheads participants in the CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game:
(Click the year for the boxscore)

Alexandre Mathieu 1997 Jakub Voracek 2007
Alex Tanguay 1998 Martin Frk 2012
Jonathan Boutin 2003 Andrew Ryan 2012
Alexandre Picard 2003 Jonathan Drouin 2013
Petr Vrana 2003 Zach Fucale 2013
Marc-Andre Bernier 2003 Nathan MacKinnon 2013
Jan Steber 2004 Nikolaj Ehlers 2014
Ryan Hillier 2006 Timo Meier 2015
Logan MacMillan 2007 Otto Somppi 2016
Nico Hischier 2017
More News
Highlights: Mooseheads 3 Charlottetown 0 - Feb. 16th
2 days ago
Chalk up another Mooseheads win
2 days ago
Scotiabank Moose Minute - Feb. 16th
2 days ago
Highlights: Mooseheads 7 Gatineau 2 - Feb. 15th
2 days ago
Moose roll to 40th win of the season
2 days ago
Scotiabank Moose Minute - Feb. 15th
3 days ago