10 Mooseheads alumnus competing for University Cup

-with files from

The Halifax Mooseheads will be well represented by some notable alumni when the 2023 University Cup kicks off today in Charlottetown, PE. There are 10 former members of the Herd suiting up for five different teams at the annual men’s hockey national championship.

The tournament runs from Thursday until Sunday at the Eastlink Centre in Prince Edward Island.

SAINT MARY’S HUSKIES Joel Bishop Walter Flower Keith Getson Ben Higgins
UPEI PANTHERS Zac Beauregard Jordan Maher
UQTR PATRIOTES Alexis Gravel Jordan Lepage
WINDSOR LANCERS Barrett Dachyshyn

UQTR, the defending University Cup champions, will face Saint Mary’s in the first quarterfinal while Concordia will battle UNB shortly after. On Friday, Alberta and Windsor will square off while the day will conclude with the host UPEI Panthers against Calgary.

The Dinos are the tournament’s top seed after they claimed the Canada West crown for the first time since 1995-96. Ontario University Athletics (OUA) champions UQTR are seeded second while perennial contender UNB are ranked third after they won another Atlantic University Sport (AUS) championship.

OUA finalists Windsor are ranked fourth followed by Canada West finalists Alberta.

Concordia, the bronze medallists from the OUA, are seeded sixth while AUS runner-ups SMU are ranked seventh. Hosts UPEI complete the field as the eighth seed.

All eight games from the competition will be webcast live on CBC Sports digital platforms (English) and (French). The full schedule will be available throughout the tournament at

More than 15,000 CHL graduates have enrolled in various post secondary institutions across North America while many have continued their hockey careers in U Sports programs across Canada.

More News
2023-24 Regular Season Schedule Released
5 days ago
Help Support Community Hero Paul MacMillan
6 days ago
Mooseheads Alumni IIHF Gold Medal Winners
7 days ago
Mooseheads gear up for QMJHL Entry Draft
2 weeks ago
A Message to Moose Country
2 weeks ago
Québec wins the title: Remparts 5 Mooseheads 4
2 weeks ago